The Art of Dorothy Lathrop


Dorothy Lathrop (1891-1980) was an American author and illustrator associated with the Golden Age of Illustration.


The Dorothy Lathrop Collection at Spirit of the Ages includes art images from some of Lathrop's seminal work. As a valuable reference resource, options are also provided for purchasing a range of gifts, including reproduction prints, posters and greeting cards.


Her first major suit of published illustrations appears to have been prepared for an edition of Walter de la Mare's The Three Mulla-Mulgars (the edition carrying Lathrop's illustrations was first published in 1919). Lathrop is said to have developed a friendship with Walter de la Mare and she prepared further suites of illustrations to accompany his work, including those for Down-Adown-Derry (1922) and Crossings (1923).


Above, we show a vintage

photograph of Dorothy Lathrop


Lathrop's first foray as an author was The Fairy Circus (1931) - a superb children's book that also carried a lovely suite of

her colour and monotone illustrations. The Fairy Circus (1931) received a Newbery Honor (an annual award conferred

by the American Library Association for the most distinguished children's books published).


In 1938, Animals of the Bible (1937) (including a wonderful suite of monotone illustrations prepared by Lathrop), won

the inaugural Caldecott Medal (an annual award conferred by the American Library Association for the most distinguished

illustrated children's book).


We invite you to take the time to peruse the wonderful artwork from Dorothy Lathrop that is included in the Collection -

to view images from any one of Lathrop's suites listed below, simply 'click' on the hyperlinks embedded within the titles and

the images.




The Three Mulla-Mulgars

12 images

A Little Boy Lost

12 images


62 images


More than 10 images



Tales from the

Enchanted Isles

8 images

The Long Bright Land

17 images

The Fairy Circus

20 images

The Forgotten Daughter

9 images



Animals of the Bible

33 images